Humanity is doomed

warning-no-stupid-people_i-g-60-6056-ab9d100z
BY MATHEW PURSER

Yes people despair for the end truly is nigh. Perhaps not today and maybe not tomorrow but we are slowly, inexorably circling the drain.

Maybe I should back up a bit.

I’ve spent the last few days racking my brain for ideas for something to post here. Something that, as the name suggests, is complete bullshit. I had several ideas that were summarily dismissed. Religion? Too easy, too predictable. Save that for an inevitable rainy day where my brain refuses to function entirely. Politics? Been there done that. Then it dawned on me. The proverbial light bulb lit up above my head (though that may just be the less than impressive wiring in the lights above my desk at work). It’s people. Dumb, stupid, panicky people.

I spend my days working for a Salary Packaging company. For those of you who are unfamiliar with exactly what that is (which seems to be more or less everybody) the short version is it’s a tax concession for people who work for not for profit and charity organisations in an attempt to make working for these organisations, and the associated lower than average wages, more appealing for people. The company I work for essentially administers this for a number of organisations Australia-wide.

The majority of my time at work is spent in customer service, in the call centre. No I’m not one of those annoying telemarketers trying to flog insurance or scam you with ‘cheap’ holiday deals, it’s purely an inbound call centre. What that means though is I spend most of my days fielding calls from anywhere from about 40-80 people per day in varying states of distress and/or anger at mistakes either real or imagined. It has been this experience more than many (as can probably be attested to by anyone else who does or has worked in a customer service position) that has lead me to the conclusion that society is in fact doomed.

this is a completely accurate depiction

I should point out that I was never the biggest fan of people to start with. They’re loud, obnoxious, selfish and above all else stupid.

My absolute biggest problem with stupid people is their complete inability to listen and pay attention. I honestly could not count the number of times I’ve asked a question and given them a range of options as an answer only to have then answer ‘yes’ or ‘no’. The most common example actually comes from my job. As a matter of course with any new clients I must ascertain whether they are employed on a full-time, part-time or casual basis. If I had a dollar for every time someone has answered that specific question with a yes or no I wouldn’t have to come to work.

So who or what is to blame?

I touched on this in my previous post but we live in a society where the most popular TV shows are cooking contests and talent shows. Scripted shows? Drama? Comedy? Plots? Characters? Bah. Who needs it? It’s much cheaper to pay a bunch of random people to come in and make fools of themselves in a ‘reality’ TV show and people are too stupid to care! Imagine being a TV Executive when that realisation dawned on them. It must have been like a teenage boy getting his first handjob. Bollocks to this paying writers and actors and producers and directors caper, just throw a group of people in a room and see what happens! All of this isn’t even mentioning crimes against humanity such as Jersey Shore, The Hills, basically MTV’s entire programming schedule more or less.

Potentially an even bigger problem though is children/adolescents’ education. Schools are by and large no more than big daycare centres. I experienced this firsthand. I’m not going to say it was better ‘back in the day’ or even that all schools and teachers are the same because I know for a fact that’s not the case. I had a couple of exceptional teachers and I learned a lot. I also though had a lot more teachers that for all intents and purposes did not seem to want to be there. They taught from a textbook to a test. Whether students learned anything, or even behaved, didn’t appear to be any of their concern. This then created an environment where students were less willing to do the work and as a result, their results and their education suffered. Rather than creativity and pursuit of excellence being fostered and encouraged it’s simply seen as enough to do the required work and get a passing grade.

Regardless of the underlying cause, the outcome is the same. Attention spans are shockingly small and people are increasingly stupid.

For more bite sized morsels of misanthropy you can follow Mathew on Twitter here

What are your thoughts?

