What Should I Do With My V-Plates?

vplates

BY ALICE ANTONOV

I’ve just had a Facebook chat conversation with a guy from my high school whom I never wanted to see again. This conversation just reinforced why I never wanted to see him or speak to him. I have him on my ‘blocked’ list on chat but I decided to humour him when he struck up a conversation.

The conversation soon moved onto my love life (or lack thereof) and how my luck was going with ‘dem uni boiz’. After admitting that it was less than stellar, he gave me this amazing advice. It was so profound that I think I’ll remember it for quite a while and hold it close to my heart in times of need: “You have to lose dem v plates”.

I replied and said that I didn’t know why my sexual history mattered to him. It shouldn’t. My body and my sexual exploits should never impact anyone’s life but my own. If or when they do, it should be with the person I choose to have sex with. This guy has no right to tell me what to do with my body. Am I over-reacting? Possibly. But I am of the opinion that if no one takes it upon themselves to shove these sorts of comments back into the arses of those who made them, they will keep making them and continue feeling like they’re entitled to an opinion. Which they’re not.

My body, my rules, and no one gets shotgun in this Ferarri.

I am a virgin. I don’t have to justify this to anyone but I’m finding that I constantly do this when my sister tells me to get laid or get a boyfriend. Why do I get so defensive over a matter that shouldn’t matter to anyone but me? It’s because it does matter to others. Over the past few weeks, several of my uni classes have touched upon the subject of women and their sexuality. Virginity is simultaneously looked down on and worshipped in females. Our bodies are up for scrutiny, our ‘numbers’ are estimated by our body proportions (big boobs = slut???) and anything we do is apparently up for the public to discuss.

I hate it. I abhor whoever started this practice and let society decide that they can say whatever the fuck they want about someone because she is female. Of course this isn’t limited just to females but it’s a heck of a lot more prevalent and a whole lot more judgement is involved. Just fuck off and let me drive. Fuck off and let everyone drive their own cars on their own highway at whatever speed they want.

My retort of “I don’t know why this makes a difference to you and why do I need to lose my virginity?” was met with a butthurt comment of “someone’s moody”. Hell yeah I am. But this little rant aside, the question of the night is clear: what the bloody hell should I do with my v-plates? In homage to the time-honoured tradition of letting the public pressure me into making a panicked decision, I will ask your opinions. So go on then, I welcome any and all suggestions.

Of course, whether these suggestions will be taken up is a gamble.

Alice is a first year Media & Comm. student at UOW and spends her time falling in love with fictional boys and wishing that she lived in any other world but this one. Follow her on Twitter and Tumblr.

6 thoughts on “What Should I Do With My V-Plates?

  1. I like the point you make about virginity being abhorred, but also there’s a huge culture of “slut shaming” now a days. I discipline my brother whenever he calls anyone a slut. Regardless of whether it’s “true”. In regards with what to do with ones v-plates; I think society has too much influence. Personally, if I have sex with someone, it’s because I’m attracted to them and I trust them. Some people only have sex with those they feel in love with. And that’s ok. Some people wait until they’re married. And that’s ok too. Everyone has different internal codes they live by, fuck what anyone “should” do… About anything.

    • Slut-shaming sucks. 😦 We just can’t win in! Good on you for reprimanding your brother, I always do it with my friends. I just hate how some people aren’t respected because of their personal ‘codes’ though, I have friends who want to wait until marriage and I have friends who don’t – it shouldn’t matter at all.

  2. I like the point you make about female sexuality. There is such a huge culture of “slut shaming” now a days, but if you don’t give it up you’re a frigid bitch. I have found that generally, it is females who perpetuate this ridiculousness. Which is sad. In regards to what you should do with ones “v-plates”; I think the voice of society is too loud. Personally, if I have sex with someone, it’s because I’m attracted to them and I trust them, I may not be in or want a relationship with them, and that’s ok. Some people only have sex with those they feel they love. And that’s ok. Some people wait until they’re married. And that’s ok too. Everyone has different internal codes they live by. Fuck what anyone “should” do about anything.

    Sorry also, if this is posted multiple times, it appears to not be working.

    • To be honest, at the time of writing it was 2am and the only cool car that came to mind was a Ferrari because we’d discussed it in my marketing lecture a few days before.

What are your thoughts?

