The Gentry Man’s Guide: Understanding lingerie as a male

hQtAmkW

This is going to be short because, well, there really isn’t much that we need to understand.

Lace, leather, black, red or blue. We all have our weaknesses. Of course, what’s hiding underneath the lingerie is a lot of what we want – a lot, but not all. I ask you, what is victory without competition? What is the toy in a Kinder Surprise without a chocolate shell to crack through?

I’m sure I speak for most guys when I say that I love lingerie. I really do. But no matter how much we think we love it, do you know who loves it more? The ones wearing it – women. The sooner you understand this, the better  it will be for you. I mean come on, why else do they spend so much on it and fill their drawers with it? I’m not going to into the details as to why because that would be a chronicle or two within itself. because us guys generally don’t need to understand it. Just go with it.

Lingerie makes a girl look sexy. The better the lingerie (in accordance with your taste of course) the sexier she looks. You know what else it does? It makes her feel sexy, which in turn only makes her look even sexier. This also scales with the quality of the lingerie. Are you starting to get it now, gentlemen?

It doesn’t matter what you’re into. Red lace might incite passion, or black leather might make you feel adventurous (Personally, I’m a sucker for garter belt suspenders). Whatever does the trick for you, don’t be shy about it to your girlfriend/wife/blow up doll. It’s a win-win situation.

One of  the most hilariously awkward situations I’ve been in is when a girl who I was seeing went out and got new lingerie . She came by and when she took off her clothes, I did not find what she was wearing attractive at all. It was so awkward, I felt terrible. From that point on, I slowly began to inject pieces of my choosing into her drawers and it worked out really well.

Once you get your head around this, you know have a great go-to gift for occasions. Getting her some nice lingerie as a gift ticks off a whole bunch of boxes at once:

  1. You got her a present
  2. It shows you’re thinking about her
  3. You’re implying, “I find you physically attractive and want to see you without clothes on, because I’d still be attracted to you regardless”
  4. I want to have sex with you.

Flowers and chocolate are nice for those I’m-sorry-about-arguing-so-here-is-a-gift-because-I-didn’t-know-you-were-having-a-bad-day moments, but sometimes you’ve just gotta step it up. I’ll be damned if I let a girl I’m seeing or girlfriend walk around my house in crappy lingerie.

The Gentry Man is a Personal Stylist who makes groomsmen look like princes, does battle with bridezillas and is an adept at the art of friendly winking. You can follow his blog and twitter.

One thought on “The Gentry Man’s Guide: Understanding lingerie as a male

  1. Pingback: Agent Provocateur’s creating a canyon of thirst among Australian men, one store at a time | The Gentry Man

What are your thoughts?

