5 Minutes With: Bec Sandridge

BY HARRISON CARTWRIGHT

If you haven’t heard about Bec Sandridge yet, that’s unlucky for you. With a voice that enamours audiences in seconds, music that has  featured on popular television shows such as Winners & Losers and Dance Academy, and a constantly-growing catalogue of music that enchants the soul, hers is a name you’ll definitely be hearing more of in the future. With a new EP on the not-so-distant horizon, we thought it’d be the perfect time to have a quick chat.

BS: Your music has got such an incredibly distinct sound to it. Who would you say are your main musical influences?

I must say that Aretha Franklin was and will remain my first musical love and soul mate but I also favour more like-minded artists such as Feist, City and Colour, Laura Veirs, Ray Lamontagne and Tegan and Sara.

 BS: Any advice for young musicians wanting to make it in the music industry?

I haven’t ‘made it’ by any means, nor would I consider myself outside of the ‘young musicians’ category at twenty-two, but I think one of the wisest things to do, creatively, is to simply play and write as much as you can. Maybe attempt to craft one song a week and then when more confident step it up to one little song a day. I guess it’s all about trial and error- error usually being the most exciting thing an artist can stumble into or upon…

 BS: What has been your favourite gig so far?

I thoroughly enjoyed my EP launch last year for Lyons and Bees- everyone was so lovely! I’ve played some pretty unusual places overseas (a cemetery and a church) which were pretty great too.

 BS: Is there a moment that stands above all others as one that has been particularly memorable? Travelling in general has been particularly memorable for me- it’s where I have played, written and felt the most alive. Wonderful and weird individuals/encounters are brilliant.

 BS: You’ve got a new EP coming out soon. Can you tell us a bit about what to expect?

I do! It’s entitled Wild Heart. It was mostly written about one important person in my life. Maybe two… In my head, it’s definitely a more mature sound with trumpets, strings and piano- which for me, is really exciting. Lyrically, I feel the songs are pretty darn depressing but in a good way (in comparison to Lyons And Bees), but the stories are rather accurate depictions of some distinct and somewhat life altering moments over the past year.

 BS: Is there anything else exciting on the cards we should know about?

I’ll be playing a string of band shows throughout Australia very soon! 24th October at Brighten Up Bar, Sydney is the official launch.

Intrigued? Check out more  Bec Sandridge over at her Unearthed page. Head here for ticket sales, like her on Facebook or follow her on Twitter.

What are your thoughts?

