5 Minutes With: Kanyon.

BY CYNDALL MCINERNEY

Dave Petrie is the brains, brawn and beard behind Kanyon, a rapidly emerging electronic musician from Sydney. Having officially launched himself as an artist on the Sydney electronic scene just over a year ago, Kanyon has ambitiously developed his style and sound to produce a soothing yet futuristic musical experience. Kanyon is currently featured on Triple J’s Unearthed Musicians.

BULLSH!T had a chat to Dave to discover the inspiration behind the music.

BS: You’ve been playing music for some time now. Describe your earliest experience with music and performance.

I started playing guitar when I was 10 and joined a guitar lesson group in primary school. Then high school really opened up my music passion. I was part of the guitar ensemble and we would perform for the college ensemble nights, I’ll always remember the first one I ever played we did ‘Tears In Heaven’ by Eric Clapton and ‘My Girl’ by The Temptations.

BS: How did that initial experience with music inspire you to pursue your current path towards electronic music and live performances?

I remember feeling like a boss afterwards, knowing that I just performed an Eric Clapton tune, having practised hard enough to know that I’d really accomplished something after the gig. It’s this rewarded feeling that I get after my gigs today that still gets me an incredible buzz.

BS: How would you describe your sound in three words?

Chill, ambient, dance.

BS: What separates you from other electronic artists also trying to break into the industry?

Very tricky question, the electronic music scene in Sydney and the world as a whole is rapidly evolving, I feel like certain acts in the last couple of years have just opened up the flood gates for up and coming artists to burst into the arena and find their own sound and niche in the whole spectacle.
I’d say that my sound is perhaps on it’s way to its own niche, with elements shining through my tracks from each of my main influences, and when people try to explain my sound to others we all struggle for a second, which I believe is a great sign.

BS: What artists have inspired your pursuit of music? What artists would you compare yourself to?

There were a couple of live local acts that I saw mid 2012 that really made me decide it was time to sink my teeth into the electronic scene. One was Fishing at Pablo’s in Epping, their unique tropical sounds complimented with strong bassy beats made me believe there was something within me that was able to find my own unique sound that people could enjoy. Then seeing one of my favourite all time electronic bands Mount Kimbie (UK) at The HiFi really pushed me over the edge, and I headed out for my birthday to buy my first synthesiser.  My biggest influences are definitely Bonobo, Shlohmo, Lapalux and more recently Cosmo’s Midnightwho are making absolutely amazing waves in the local scene. I’m going to drop Pink Floyd in here too, my all time favourite band, who’s groundbreaking ambient synthesiser sounds paved the way for a lot of what electronic music producers can do today.

BS: Your music combines a kitsch unison of remixes and original tracks. How much of your music is pre-recorded audio excerpts and songs, and how much do you produce on your own?

The remixes that I have written have only ever involved the acapella of the original song. I’m very much a writer and will always be so when it comes to remixing, I use minimal parts of the original as possible, which helps me give the remix a real new feel. I Have an EP on the way with all the tracks written with just the final stages of production to be finished up, from the very first track I ever wrote, ‘Legend of Cassius’, I’ve been searching for the sound I want to get across to my audience, and the EP has taken a fairly common line of thought and definitely is an exciting project for me to get out. The tracks are 100% original and have grown to involve my vocals, and to be honest, my heart and soul for the last 6 months!

BS: What are your goals for the rest of 2013 in terms of both stylistic development and live performances?

I have a couple of support gigs for acts from the UK at the Oxford Art Factory which was amazing news. That place has been great in terms of support for my music and it means so much especially at such an early stage of where I’m at with where I intend to take everything. The biggest thing in terms of my original productions would be the release of my first EP (name yet to be decided upon), which will hopefully be released early Summer!

If you want to listen to Kanyon’s sound before the release of his EP this summer, be sure to follow him on Soundcloud, and like his facebook page for updates. If you have any questions or queries, feel free to follow him on tumblr or Twitter.
Follow BULLSH!T on Twitter, send us some love on Tumblr, or like us on Facebook.
What are your thoughts?

