Mothers don’t know how easy they have it.

I consider myself to be the every man. I go about my regular day, work my regular job and enjoy my regular leisure, and like most other people, I often find it hard to get many likes on a Facebook status. Mothers, on the other hand, just don’t know how easy they have it.

We all like to feel validated, whether on the job or in our relationships. I don’t consider myself to be all that needy or insecure, but each one of my Facebook statuses is crafted carefully and methodically, and I believe they deserve to be recognised with a simple thumbs up. But mothers? They don’t even work for it! They just stick up a photo of their baby and boom! 100 likes right there.

It’s a problem I’ve faced since high school. I always got good marks, but the vast majority of the class material didn’t come naturally to me. To this day, I’ve always found myself overcome with bitterness when I see someone receive the same (or a better) outcome as me but with half the effort. Why does life have to be so easy for them? Why do their videos of their children messily licking away at ice cream cones attract comments from 60 percent of their friend lists while my video of that time I went wakeboarding gathers virtual dust?

Both in Australia and abroad, politicians and commentators are too scared to suggest that some groups in society are showered in opportunities at the risk of looking like they’re inciting class warfare. I’ll say it, though. Some people just get things handed to them, and they take those opportunities for granted. Why, if I ever have the chance to have my photo taken with a plump, dough-faced child, don’t doubt that I’ll pounce on the moment and do everything in my power to make sure that everyone in my Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and even LinkedIn circles sees it.

Every year that goes by, I grow a bit more cynical and a bit more disenfranchised by what our world is turning into. Our leaders claim they want to foster an egalitarian society, but with every change in the way we’re governed, new tax breaks are introduced to one-sidedly benefit the rich, new workplace laws are instated to unfairly empower employers, and new changes are made to Facebook’s news feed algorithm to disproportionately aid mothers with preposterously cute babies.

Are governments and corporations ever going to give the every man a second thought? Or are we going to be pushed to our breaking points, where we can’t afford our rent, can’t ask for sick leave and can’t get one measly share on that joke we spent an hour perfecting while heartfelt expressions of a mother’s love for her child dominate the Facebook mindshare? It’s time we say enough is enough and make our demands.

And while we’re at it, let’s see if we can’t get some of that pregnant glow for ourselves, too.

Image via Wikipedia

What are your thoughts?

