If our youth dictated our career decisions

Remember how much certainty you had with EVERYTHING when you were younger? The opposite sex had cooties, tuck-shop Fridays were the best thing that could happen in a week and of course, you knew exactly how your life would plan out when you got really old and grown-up.

The BULLSH!T Team had a little reminisce back to what careers they thought they’d end up in at the ages of 10, 16 and where they are now at this present day.

Tahlia:

At 10 I was convinced I would be the Next Big Thing. First I’d start as a singer – I even wrote my own songs about my own personal experiences, like the time I wasn’t allowed to have a puppy. On the side I’d be an actress, motivational speaker and author.

book_pile

At 16 I was stuck on the author idea. I found a story I wrote at 6 about a gingerbread man marrying a donut man and living happily ever after despite what people said. It was enough to start me writing again.

Now, I’m working as a digital content producer/freelance writer and spend the majority of my time glued to my phone and/or laptop while fantasising about winning the lotto. And maybe writing a book.

Harrison:

When I was 10 I wanted to be journalist because it was rad.

When I was 16 I started to realise journalism wasn’t the most ethical of industries so I traded those plans for a screenwriting ambition.

Now I’m working in events management for the biggest record label in the country which is…incredibly unexpected but also incredibly cool. TL:DR? Life doesn’t always work out the way you expect it to – and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with.

Courtney:

When I was 10 I wanted to be a vet, until I realised I had to deal with animals dying.

At 16, I had the idea that I could get paid to talk to and hang out with bands.

Since then, I’ve pursued journalism and I’m more than halfway through a Master of Arts in Journalism. I have my own radio show, I write for a growing publication and I have plans in the future for working with new media publications. 

Cyndall:

At 10 years of age, I knew I was destined to be a full time seal carer. I would have been happy, just being a seal.

At 16 I fantasised about being the chief editor of “total girl”magazine, rolling around in piles of free lip gloss. As I matured, I refocused my goals to “Girlfriend” magazine.

Now, I work in an ad agency as a copywriter and I blog sarcastic social commentary in my spare time. Probably to mask the pain of not working with seals.

Laura:

When I was 10 I wanted to be everything. A dancer, singer, actress, hairdresser, fashion designer extraordinaire …and then I realised I couldn’t sing, dance or even really act. #BrokenDreams 
Graduation-hats-flying1
At 16 I was completely lost, most likely from losing not
 one but five career aspirations early on in life. 

Now I’m in the last week of my university degree. I’m about to go from originally wanting to be everything to being… nothing. The job applications are in and my future awaits (fingers crossed). As scared as I am, I’m hopeful and ready and willing for whatever job/life this may be. I think I know now that we have time. Time to freak out. Time to be anything and maybe even time to be everything.

Sarah:

When I was 10 I thought I would grow up to be a lawyer. I walked around the house spouting lines like ‘It’s the policy of the government’ and ‘I object’ – I kid you not!

When I was 16 I thought I would head into theatre production, there was nothing I loved more than being on top of a ladder adjusting a lighting rig.

Now I’m on the other side of a four year media degree and entirely too opinionated for my own good. If there was career professionally tweeting commentary on TV shows from home, that’s where I’d be.  The only thing I can say with certainty? I may not know what/where I want to be when I grow up, but I want to love the journey getting there.

What are your thoughts?

